You are here

Academic staff

New UCT/UWC SKA Chair appointment

The UCT Astronomy Department and the UWC Physics Department are delighted to announce that

the joint UCT/UWC SKA Research Chair

has been filled and will be taken up in January 2014 by Prof Russ Taylor

Prof Taylor is coming to us from Department of Physics and Astronomy of the University of Calgary. He has extensive expertise in radio astronomy, in particular wide-field polarization, cosmic magnetism and Big Data, and has played a prominent role in the SKA project since its inception. He was one of the founding international SKA project scientists and co-authored the first SKA science case. He currently represents Canada as one of the national members on the SKA Organization Board. Before that he served as the founding Executive Secretary of the International SKA Steering Committee, the predecessor to the International SKA Science and Engineering Committee. He is interested in using MeerKAT to detect polarized signals from the low luminosity AGN and star forming galaxies as an initial step toward the SKA key science area of the evolution of cosmic magnetism. Both UWC and UCT are extremely pleased that Prof Taylor will start building up this research area in South Africa.

New Honorary Professor

The Department of Astronomy is pleased announce that Prof Ted Williams, the incoming Director of the SAAO, has accepted an appointment as Honorary Professor as of the 1st of January, the start of his tenure as Director of the SAAO.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer